Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

So, I’ve been a bit behind with my TV/Movie watching, so some of the good movies are still there on my shelf ready to be watched. I just haven’t gotten around to it.. 😛

I APOLOGISE FOR THE TERRIBLE MOVIE REVIEW…. I am learning.. 😛

Anyways, so I watched the first Sherlock Holmes movie a few days ago, AND I LOVED IT! 😀

Renowned filmmaker Guy Ritchie, brings the well known detective, Sherlock Holmes, and his sidekick, Dr John Watson, to the big screen. A mix of exciting action scenes and clever plot twists keep you on the edge of your seat!

The plot is set in London in the year of 1891, where Holmes and his best friend, Watson, stop the ritualistic murder of a young woman by the mysterious Lord Henry Blackwood. After Lord Blackwood is sentenced to death, he tells Holmes that three more deaths will take place that will greatly change the world. Lord Blackwood is then hung and pronounced dead by Dr Watson. Holmes is later approached by Irene Adler, a professional thief and is asked to find a missing man. After her departure, Holmes follows her and sees her meet her employer in the shadows.

Reports later come through that Lord Blackwood’s  grave had been blown open from the inside. They attend the scene and find that inside the coffin is not Lord Blackwood, but the missing man he had been asked to find, Luke Reordan.

The race begins to find Lord Blackwood and stop him from killing people through supernatural means.

The fight scenes were very well done and were extremely entertaining. Hans Zimmer once again impresses me with the score, for it was excellent, and had strong notes of broken, old London streets, as you can tell from the main theme of the movie, but also has a very exciting, fast paced feel:

Hans Zimmer had his own piano detuned, but found that it was out of tune, so he asked his assistant to locate an old, broken piano. The first one they found, had been cared for and was still in very good condition, but the second one was the one they used for the film. Zimmer said, “”We rented 20th Century Fox’s underground car park one Sunday and did hideous things to a piano.”

The plot was intriguing and after I finished the first one, I had to watch the second one as soon as possible!

This is now one of my favourite movies and I would rate it a 4 out of 5 stars. This movie is a must watch!

star-four-11-jpg

Tomorrow I will post my movie review for the second movie, Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows!

Hana xx

One thought on “Movie Review: Sherlock Holmes

Want to say something?

