Heroine: Writing 201

Criteria: Theme~Hero(ine), Form~Ballad, Device~Anaphora/Epistrophe

You were born to lead,

you were born to strengthen,

you were born to give hope.

you were born to make a change.

Women were once weak,

not in themselves,

in the eyes of others,

having no power.

Now, you rise up,

against that image,

to inspire the world,

to spread the message.

Because of you, we are strong,

in the eyes of others, we now belong.

Women can make a difference,

We can do it because of you.

~><~

I am really sorry that you had to read that. That was shocking.

I really wanted to just not post something, as I’ve never written a ballad before, and I have now found out that I’m terrible at writing them..

My inspiration for this was the Australian Suffragettes that fought for suffrage in the very early 1900’s. Australia was, in fact, the first country in the world to allow women both the right to vote in federal elections and also the right to be elected to parliament on a national basis.

I promise I will do better next time..

Hana xx

Want to say something?

